{ C o l i b r i – – ☂

"A guilty conscience needs to confess. A work of art is a confession." Albert Camus

Rainman

We finished watching the movie Beyond Borders in my Human Geographies class today. It stars Clive Owen & Angelina Jolie. I like them C:

I don’t know if I talked about it here before. In any case, I was liking it at first, and then they did a slow-motioned death scene, and I just couldn’t take it seriously anymore – despite it being a very serious death flick. It could have earned itself an oscar when it came out. Really. But now I see why it didn’t. My entire day was about clashing cultures and the troubles those countries in peril are going through. First, the movie itself, and later tonight, on House. It really brings out how selfish human beings can be.We want to stay in our little bubble of comfort. We don’t care how the grass is greener on the other side (despite how most americans – no offense – think on the contrary), We just want things to go our way. It’s a horrible truth I’m having a difficult time chewing.

I was thinking this on my way out of the shady mustard-yellow portable at the very end of the portable-rows, somewhere between the school parking lot and the soccer field. It was raining and I looked up to pull the hoodie I was wearing over my head. I didn’t want to get sick again – my immune system is fail.

And up there on that tiny hill around the curve, standing under a dampened cherry tree, was a 40-something year old man staring with his back facing us out on the street (mind you, it was pretty far from the soccer field). He wore a clashing yellow raincoat and round, silver-rimmed glasses. He was just standing there, doing nothing. I thought it was strange and somewhat a little creepy that a random stranger was standing idly on a school property at 3:30 in the afternoon. In the rain.

I looked around. No one seemed to have noticed him. I tried to follow his gaze (behind him, of course. I didn’t want him to notice me. he might think i’m creeping the creeper!), wondering what he was looking at, and, with a hint of concern, I slowly blended back in the crowd of students making their way back to the school’s main building. I kept glancing back, to confirm that I was sane and he was actually there, and by the tree, I could still see the hem of his Pennington Bear raincoat until I turned away for sure.

I still don’t trust this “confirmation”. He seemed so unreal, almost ghost-like. I didn’t tell any of my friends about it. They think I’m crazy enough as it is.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. Lady Glamis says:

    Hmm, crazy! My book Monarch is about a CIA officer named Nick. Weird! And the weirder thing is that my first book, Breakaway, has a main character named Eric whom I’ve always seen Clive Owen filling the role of. Haha. I’d better see this movie! Good thing it doesn’t look anything like Monarch. :)

    Thanks for sharing this! And that man in the rain would have freaked me out.

Leave a Reply

